CrimeWatch Reconstruction Scene

Recording the script for the CrimeWatch video was the first thing we set out to do before going out to shoot the video around Cardiff city centre.

To do this, myself and the crew went up to one of the empty radio studios as it was a quiet environment. For this part I was on sound – I booked out a tas-cam as I have used the device multiple times so it’s easy to use and it’s portable so could take it around with me. With this I recorded the audio that was Sophia narrating the attack which was to be filmed later. Before recording I had to make sure the area was quiet so there would be no undesirable noises and make sure the mic was placed next to her at an appropriate distance from her mouth.

Whilst our actress was speaking I had to make sure that the levels were OK and that what she was saying was clear through the headphones.

Once we wrapped up audio recording with the actress we made our way out of the university building and started filming Sophia walking in and around Cardiff’s Saint David’s shopping centre. As the script talks about her coming home from work we got her to go into a restaurant and ask what time they close to make it appear that she is leaving work. Once that was filmed we moved onto the backstreets of Cardiff to make it look like Sophia was taking dodgy shortcuts home.

Leave a comment