Film Outtakes

As part of the marketing content I created a blooper real of all the funniest moments of the film that were cut or not meant to be in the final film.

Firstly I opened Premiere Pro 2017 and uploaded all the footage to the project. In total there was nearly an hour of footage so I placed every clip in order and began watching them. This process took less time than expected because I skimmed each one over with the cursor quickly to play quicker than watch normally. Shots that I knew were perfect were instantly deleted from the project and the ones that were outtakes were left in. Once the only clips left were outtakes I started trimming them or deleting if I thought they weren’t funny enough.

By the end of this cutting and deleting process the remainder of the footage came to roughly 3 minutes which I thought was more than enough as the film is meant to be the same time.

Next I began listening to license free music on Youtube Creator to find a suitable track for the bloopers to give it a more comical tone. It was important that I used a royalty free song because we don’t want the reel to be flagged up with copyright claims by Youtube’s system and have it taken off the internet. Below you can see a picture of the edit in action:

Screen Shot 2017-05-01 at 11.48.29.png

After downloading and applying the track to the edit I watched the clips again to check the levels of them compared to the song, and if any were louder than the other I turned them down for equal volume. Then I added an intro (pink blocks) to the bloopers. This was relatively easy as I already had the logo for the film to placed that on and then added text above it. The slapping sound effect attached to the word “outtakes” is taken from Youtube.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 01.20.04.png

Stylistic I wanted a cold open with one blooper at the start, introduction and then the rest as it just looks nicer and works better visually. Watch the blooper reel below to see the finished product:

Leave a comment